Thinking it over…(books)

I brought home a bunch of books to read over the summer. Books that I might or probably will teach my students this next year. First, I’m going to list what I’ve brought home. Second, I’m going to list other books that are available to me, as a teacher, for my juniors.

What I’m asking for from you, dear readers, is opinions and information. What would you recommend and why? What would you steer me away from and why? Input please!

JUNIORS
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (I am DEFINITELY teaching this one)
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (not sure what the fuss is about)
The Crucible (a play) by Arthur Miller
Raisin in the Sun (a play) by Larraine Hansberry (I’m in the beginning & like it so far)
Black Voices by assorted African-American authors

Other options for JUNIORS
Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger (oh my god, I LOVE this book–but I’d need permission from parents)
Dinner at the Homesick Diner by Anne Tyler
Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather (I really want to do Cather, by my favorite book by her (Song of the Lark) is really long and my other favorite (O Pioneers!) isn’t on the district list)
My Antonia by Willa Cather
Lost Lady by Willa Cather
Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne (I developed a lesson plan that I think needs a bit of tweaking, but it looks at the book through a perspective of bullying and social outcast-ism)
Separate Peace by John Knowles
Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (I’ve never really liked this book)
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
Invisible Man by H.G. Wells
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck (my fave teacher from high school LOVES this book. And I LOATHE Steinbeck’s famed Grapes of Crap book, so I’m considering this as a substitute)
Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan (love this book)
A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

So…anyone have any grand ideas or suggestions? Or even just little ideas? Forceful opinions? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?

**********
I haven’t read all of these either. But, I’m willing to read them. I just need to decide!

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

