Still plugging away

I’m still working on reading through stuff–trying to make decisions. I fear I’m going to run out of time. I’m currently reading 1) A Separate Peace 2) A Raisin in the Sun and 3) Our Town. I’m for sure teaching My Antonia and To Kill a Mockingbird. But, that’s the only thing I’ve decided thus far.

Our anthology has the Gettysburg Address in it. We had to memorize it for some class I took–either 6th or 8th grade English. I still remember how much I loved how all those words sound together. And, I noticed there’s a discrepancy between the version I memorized and the version in our book. Hmmm…it’s minor, but I noticed. I think I’m just going to have class copies of the anthology and not have them cart/lug the books around. My student teaching experience taught me that a) kids do NOT like carrying around big-ass heavy lit books and b) students are apt to lose big-ass heavy lit books, no matter how big they are. I had about 1/3 of the kids who routinely didn’t bring their books to class. SO FRUSTRATING! This is why our short story unit we (aka me) read the stories out loud, rather than silent, individual reading. Much more success that way.

I added new links to more blogs. I promise I’m going to try to keep up with everyone. I keep finding people who’ve linked to my blog on their page. How flattering! How fun! I feel so popular! 😉

Oy, I didn’t realize it was midnight. I should go to bed. Or at least, go to my bedroom. I have to get up early(ish) tomorrow so I can dye my hair before work. (tee hee)

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, preparation, reading

Leave a Reply

