Big Brother might be watching

For the first time since I’ve started with my district, I had a bit of a snafu trying to log in. The situation was fixed when I hit my browser back button, but…I feel as if someone is watching me.

I don’t feel as if my blog is overly negative. I don’t feel as if I’m negative about coworkers or students, in the grand scheme of things. I use this as a sounding board — both to get my ideas out of my head, but also to get feedback and suggestions from my fellow bloggers (i.e. you guys).

Currently, I can’t access livejournal or typepad blogs at all from our district computers. They’re blocked. Many other times when I’ve tried to search for stuff for school online, I get a blocked message b/c whatever I’m looking for is a weblog.

I understand having to block certain sites, for the students’ sakes, and sometimes even for the teachers’ sakes (is that right? sakes? oh well), but seriously? I could be finding even more handy dandy uber wonderful things to use/try in the classroom, but I’m blocked out.

That irks me.

**************

Back to the topic of my seniors. Senior English is Brit Lit with some World Lit thrown in for good measure. I was talking to my supervisor/curriculum head and she said that a lot of teachers teach 2 Shakespeare plays (I’m thinking MacBeth and Hamlet), and then some books. Some suggestions were Night, Brave New World, 1984, Lord of the Flies etc. While talking with her, I remarked that a theme of power (who has it, who wants it, why it corrupts and can be dangerous, etc) would be a nice thing to focus on for the class with those selections. We’ll see. I’d like to find some poetry and short stories too. I definitely want to teach “Harrison Bergeron” by Vonnegut (I know he’s not either Brit or World Lit, but…) and some other thought-provoking works.

So…I’ve got s’more reading to do. Wasn’t I just at this point a year ago? *sigh*

Leave a comment

Filed under restrictions

Leave a Reply

