Swimming in detentions (and a meme)

All told, I’ve assigned SEVEN detentions so far, and I’ve had students for only EIGHT days. Yup. Some students have earned more than one detention. The majority of these are because they cannot seem to make it to class on time. I have one student who has actually been tardy to class six times (it’s during a class where we have lunch, and class is split. A “skillfull student can be tardy to class twice in one day!).

I’m also swimming in germs right now. I can’t decide if this yuckiness is due to just a cold, or it’s allergies that led to a cold. Either way, I have just half my voice (I haven’t lost my voice or even come close to it since I was a high school student!), and I’m stuffy, and I have a really gross (wet sounded) cough. YUCK! Anyone have any miracle (yet not gross) cold remedies? I’m sick of sounding and feeling like this.

Ugh…I feel like I’m in survival mode (still–doesn’t that feeling pass after your first year?). However, it feels like a more seasoned survival mode. Time is just slipping away from me. Today I’m giving our first district-mandated standards-related test. It’s on how well the students can listen. Whooppee.

Today we also have our first pep rally. Go freshmen Cheer Girls!

*Note — the pep rally went pretty well. However we will definitely have some things to work on at Tuesday night’s practice.

((((((((((((((((***************))))))))))))))))

And now, a meme

Back To School Meme

Completed in Reference to (Self or Child): Self

Number of years teaching or your eldest child has been in school (k through college)?
This is my second year of teaching — not counting student teaching

Amount approximately spent on Back to School Items so far including clothes?
I didn’t keep track. Probably about $100+ for clothes and almost $100 for school supplies

Number of Days until school starts in your area (+ or – if it’s started)?
-9

Approximate distance school is from your house?
2 miles.

Amount of time it will take you or your child to get to school from your house by car or bus?
It takes about 10 minutes…sometimes even 15. Traffic is pretty heavy on the streets I take, but I hate winding through neighborhoods

The actual or approximate number of students in the class you teach or your oldest child’s class?
My largest class has 25

The number of classes in your grade or your oldest child’s grade level?
Uh…there aren’t “classes” in HS like in elementary. There are about 400 kids in each grade-level.

The price to buy a full student lunch at school?
About $2

Number of schools in your district?
There are 9 high schools, 11 middle schools and (jesus peaches) 61 elementary

Early dismissal days already built into the calendar?
Maybe like 5, if we’re lucky. The other senior highs have them, but on the block, we don’t have the time. So, unlike my mom (who teaches at an elementary in my district), I have to teach the day after PTConferences. She gets the day off.

Price paid for the most expensive back to school item so far?
Uh…$8 for a binder? It’s heavy duty

Time school day ends? 2:50 p.m.

Leave a comment

Filed under detentions, sick

Leave a Reply

