Teacher Nerd Books

So…what have I been buying? These are the books I’ve purchased within the last year or so, actually, since I’ve started teaching…related to teaching. First, I’ll make the list. Then, later on, I suppose I’ll have to review them, eh? Oh…some of these are books I’ve been given too.

Reading Reminders by Jim Burke
Tools for Thought by Jim Burke (he’s kinda my hero)
Hip Hop Poetry by Alan Sitomer
Woe is I by Patricia O’Conner
English Teacher’s Companion by Jim Burke
Teaching English by Design by Peter Smagorinsky
Plagiarism by Barry Gilmore
Whose Grammar Book Is This Anyway? by C. Edward Good
Teaching Outside of the Box by LouAnne Johnson
Teaching with Love and Logic by Jim Fay and David Funk
Freedom Writer’s Diary by Erin Gruwell
The Essential 55 by Ron Clark
Setting Limits in the Classroom by Robert Mackenzie
A Framework for Understanding Poverty by Ruby Payne
How to Teach Students Who Don’t Look Like You by Bonnie Davis
I Read it but I Don’t Get It by Cris Tovani
When Kids Can’t Read by Kylene Beers

Ok…that’s it that I can think of for now…impressive, huh?

Leave a comment

Filed under books, English, reading, teaching, writing

Leave a Reply

