Teacher Appreciation Week

It’s Teacher Appreciation Week. Rather than complain about all the things I could complain about, and contine to be negative nelly…I want to celebrate my favorite teachers instead.  DK, AK, RW, TB, LB, MV, DN, AS, DH, DJ, JH, and TB2– I am who I am b/c of you. less than 5 seconds ago via web.

DK and AK: my parents. Without them, I would be lost, in so many ways. They raised me right and I’m thankful for it.

RW: my high school English teacher. She was always one of my favorite people, and I loved having her as a teacher. In fact, she is who inspired me to become a teacher.

TB: my high school history teacher for AP American History. He allowed be to be creative and didn’t seem to mind my sarcasm. I enjoyed his classes immensely, not just because they were interesting .

LB & MV: my fourth grade and sixth grade teachers, respectively. These women made all the things that weren’t English related fun when I was in elementary school.

EW: my sixth grade reading/English teacher. She taught us to speed read, introduced us to poetry, and took us on walks to the nearby park. I still remember the day we went and had to dry out our clothes on the radiators because of the snow. Perhaps the most fun I’ve ever had while learning.

DN: Ninth grade English teacher. She made me work for my grades and didn’t just accept that my work was good enough. I appreciate that now, though I might not have then.

AS & DH: My high school band and choir teachers, respectively. Though AS has passed on (R.I.P.), I still think of him so often. He was the first teacher to make me feel guilt — my talent at my instrument could be so much more, he said, if I’d only practice. I was a music major because he made me think it was possible. Meanwhile, DH was the first vocal teacher to appreciate my talent in that area. Everyone else didn’t think I could sing.

DJ: My college flute instructor. I’ve never worked so hard in my life as when I was preparing for my senior recital. She never gave up and used just the right amount of guilt, shame and encouragement to keep me working.

JH: My college communication teacher, who enjoyed my research but told me I couldn’t really write. It was a hard pill to swallow, but those lessons were oh so necessary.

and finally

TB2: My poli-econ professor. I didn’t understand the subject, but she taught it well enough and had high expectations that WORKED for that B, and totally appreciated it as well. May she R.I.P. as well.

When I look back over my life, I am blessed to have SO MANY teachers who have made a difference in my life. I can only hope that I am that teacher for at least one of my students. I hope they’ll look back, when they’re an adult, and think, “Man, MidwestTeacher was super tough, but I learned so much from her — and I’m glad she was my teacher. ”

So…thank you, all of you. I’m glad you were my teachers.

2 Comments

Filed under about me, family, gratitude, teaching, understanding

2 responses to “Teacher Appreciation Week

  1. Wow! What you’ve written here has been the best gift someone could give a teacher. Next year, as an assignment, I think I’ll make my students write a letter to the teacher they most appreciated! And I’ll send them off. Thanks for reminding us not to dwell on the negative, but instead show gratitude to those amazing teachers who changed our lives.

  2. I like that idea — in the past, some of our homeroom teachers have had their senior homerooms write a short note to teachers who they’ve appreciated etc. As a teacher, you know what it’s like to get that kind of recognition. 🙂

Leave a Reply

